Day 1

So, I weighed in this morning–173.1. According to a BMI chart, that makes me less than 1 pound within being overweight (Which I think, for my height, begins at 174). However, I don’t need BMI to tell me that I am 15-20 pounds too heavy for my build.

I did 45 minutes on the elliptical this morning, level 8 (I used to be able to do level 14, but my fitness has declined). I have finished my eating today–here is what I ate:

When I woke up–
Light OJ (I know this isn’t necessarily great, but I finished the bottle this a.m. and won’t buy it anymore)

Lunch
2 pieces wheat toast (light)
1/2 cup fat free cottage cheese
1 granny smith apple

A few hours later
1 chobani banana yogurt
about 15-20 almonds

Dinner
2 lightlife vegetarian hotdogs (I don’t eat meat)
2 light wheat buns
A little ketchup and mustard

Snack
Baby carrots and hummus

I also chewed a pack of orbit kids gum throughout the day–I was doing work, and this is a habit of mine.

The day isn’t over yet, but one area where I could use some improvement is drinking some additional water. I tend not to drink enough during the day, and I tend to drink too much diet soda (which I don’t have in the house right now).

All in all, I’m pleased with how today went. I normally eat breakfast but after pigging out yesterday I didn’t feel hungry until later in the day.

I wish this early post could be more substantive, but I’ve been doing work all day (which is writing intensive) and my brain is zapped. Also, it’s early in the blog and I want to be cautious of having to many revealatory posts before I’ve built up any credibility.

I’ll definitely get some exercise tomorrow, but I’m not sure what I will do because my marathon training program begins “officially” on Monday. I will be following the following plan, which from what I can tell is the bare minimum required to complete a marathon (I have done a marathon before and have done lots of half marathons, including one earlier this year, so I have some notion of what I’m getting myself into). http://www.womensrunninguk.co.uk/12weekmarathonplan.obyx

If anyone reading has run a marathon on minimal training, I’d love to hear any tips (or war stories).

Leave a Reply

